• Home
  • News
  • Fashion
  • CFDA names winners of its 2022 Fashion Awards

CFDA names winners of its 2022 Fashion Awards

By Rachel Douglass


Scroll down to read more


Image: CFDA, House of Slay

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) has revealed the winners of this year’s Fashion Awards during a ceremony at Casa Cipriani, in New York’s Manhattan.

For its 60th anniversary, the event, which was sponsored by Amazon Fashion, saw attendance from a slew of notable figures from various industries, including Cher, Julia Fox, Drake and the entire Kardashian family.

While Selling Sunset star Christine Quinn hosted the red carpet, the awards night itself was hosted by American actress Natasha Lyonne, who was joined on stage by a number of co-hosts, such as Joseph Altuzarra, Gabriela Hearst and Aurora James, to present the awards.

The winner of the American Womenswear Designer of the Year award was Catherine Holstein of Khaite, while the title of American Menswear Designer of the Year went to Bode’s Emily Adams Bode Aujla. Raul Lopez from Luar won American Accessory Designer of the Year and the CFDA’s Emerging Designer of the Year was revealed to be Elena Velez.

In addition to the award winners, CFDA also celebrated this year’s honourees, which it had revealed in the days leading up to the event.

Image: CFDA, Amazon Fashion Innovation Award - Skims

Law Roach, who counts the likes of Zendaya, Ariana Grande and Celine Dion among his clients, was honoured with CFDA’s Inaugural Stylist Award. Industry veteran Patti Wilson accepted the Media Award, for her editorial work in the publications like Vogue Italia and V Magazine.

Asian-led fashion label House of Slay won this year’s Positive Social Influence Award, while Kim Kardashian’s Skims received the first Innovation Award Presented by Amazon Fashion.

This year, the late designer Virgil Abloh posthumously received the CFDA Board of Trustee’s Award, which recognised Louis Vuitton’s former artistic director for his global contribution to fashion.

FashionUnited has collected the full list of winners below.

Winners and Honourees

American Menswear Designer of the Year:

Emily Adams Bode Aujla, Bode

American Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Catherine Holstein, Khaite

American Emerging Designer of the Year:

Elena Velez

American Accessory Designer of the Year:

Raul Lopez, Luar

Fashion Icon:

Lenny Kravitz

Positive Social Influence Award:

The House of Slay - Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung and Ezra William

Amazon Innovation Award:

Skims - Kim Kardashian, Jens Grede, Emma Grede

Board of Trustee’s Award:

Virgil Abloh

Stylist Award:

Law Roach

Media Award in Honour of Eugenia Sheppard:

Patti Wilson

Founder’s Award in Honour of Eleanor Lambert:

Andrew Bolton

Environmental Sustainability Award:

The United Nations, accepted by Amina J. Mohammad, UN deputy secretary-general

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:

Chrome Hearts - Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark

Special Anniversary Award:

Jeffrey Banks
Amazon Fashion
Fashion Awards