• Home
  • News
  • Fashion
  • Walpole adds new categories to 2016 awards

Walpole adds new categories to 2016 awards

By Danielle Wightman-Stone


Scroll down to read more


Walpole, the luxury trade body that represents some of Britain’s best-known luxury brands including Burberry, Alexander McQueen, Jimmy Choo and Mulberry, has added new categories to its annual British Luxury Awards, to be held at The Dorchester hotel in London on November 14.

The industry event highlights British luxury brands and individuals who manufacture in the UK and are leaders in digital luxury innovation, which it states have excelled over the past 12 months through “trailblazing quality, craftsmanship, design, innovation or experience”. Nominations are open and will close on September 2.

There are 10 categories in totally, with one new addition for 2016, the Champion of British Luxury Manufacturing, which will be awarded to the British luxury brand most dedicated to supporting luxury manufacturing in the UK. In addition, two awards last seen in 2014 make a return, Digital Innovation in British Luxury and the Champion of British Luxury Overseas awards.

These will join British Luxury Brand of the Year, which last year was won by Victoria Beckham, Best British Luxury Experience, Best British Luxury Craftsmanship, Champion of British Luxury Sustainability, Emerging British Luxury Talents, The Walpole 2016 Leader in Luxury, and Outstanding Achievement in British Luxury.

The judging panel includes industry names such as Michael Ward, managing director of Harrods and chairman of Walpole, Conrad Bird, director of the Great Britain Campaign, and Joan Burstein, founder of Browns.

Commenting on the 15th Walpole British Luxury Awards, Walpole chief executive officer Michelle Emmerson, said: “This year we have developed new categories to recognise the pioneering work of British brands to increase education and employment for skilled luxury craftspeople within the UK.

“The British luxury industry is going from strength-to-strength and we want to acknowledge the manufacturers and the craftspeople at the heart of our industry who are paramount to its continuing success.”

Other winners in 2015 included Emilia Wickstead and Charlotte Olympia Dellal.

Image: courtesy of Walpole

Victoria Beckham
walpole british luxury awards